The Pensions Authority

  • The Pensions Authority

    The Minister for Social Protection, Joan Burton, T.D. signed the commencement order with effect from 7 March 2014 for the Pensions Authority as provided for under the Social Welfare and Pensions (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2013.

    The Pensions Authority consists of an independent chair appointed by the Minister for Social Protection and two ordinary members.

  • David Begg
    David Begg

    Mr David Begg (Chairperson)

    Dr. David Begg was appointed Chairman of the Pensions Authority in 2016. He is a former Secretary General of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions and was CEO of Concern Worldwide from 1997 to 2001. He has served on the boards of a number of public and private sector bodies including the Central Bank, Aer Lingus and the Irish Times Trust. He is currently Chairman of the Mater Misericordiae and Children's University Hospital group and of Barnardos children's charity. He holds master's degrees in International Relations and Theology from DCU and a PhD in Sociology from Maynooth University. He is adjunct professor at the Maynooth University Institute of Social Sciences.

  • Jacqui McCrum
    Jacqui McCrum

    Ms Jacqui McCrum

    Deputy Secretary, Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection 
    (Representative of the Minister for Employment Affairs and Social Protection)

    Ms. Jacqui McCrum was appointed to the Pensions Authority in 2019. She joined the Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection as Deputy Secretary General in 2018. Prior to that she was the Director General and Accounting Officer in the Office of the Ombudsman, Offices of the Information Commissioner and Commissioner for Environmental Information, Standards in Public Office Commission, Referendum Commission and Commission for Public Service Appointments. She was previously Deputy/Acting Financial Services Ombudsman, Ireland and worked on the amalgamation of that office with the Pensions Ombudsman's office. Most of her career has been in financial services in London and Dublin. She holds various academic qualifications.

  • Gary Tobin
    Gary Tobin

    Mr Gary Tobin
    Assistant Secretary, Department of Finance
    (Representative of the Minister for Finance)

    Mr. Gary Tobin was appointed a member of the Pensions Authority in 2017. He is the Assistant Secretary General in the Department of Finance with responsibility for Banking and Financial Stability. He was previously Assistant Secretary General in the Tax Policy Division. He leads a team responsible for banking and payments policy in Ireland, policies relating to the provision of credit in the economy and policies relating to financial stability, Central Bank powers and the National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA) managed funding and investment strategies. He is a Certified Bank Director with the Institute of Banking and is a member of the Irish Government Economic and Evaluation Service (IGEES). He edited and co-authored the book "Irish Tax Policy in Perspective", which is published by the Irish Tax Institute.

    The Pensions Authority's Statement of Strategy 2016 - 2020 is available below.