In order to personalise your content you must select all three options

State pensions

State pension age

The State currently provides two types of retirement pension: State Pension (Contributory) and State Pension (Non-Contributory). The State pension age is currently age 66.

  • State Pension (Contributory) is payable at age 66 to people who have satisfied certain PRSI conditions; and
  • State Pension (Non-Contributory) is payable at age 66 as a means-tested pension for those who do not qualify for the State Pension (Contributory) based on their PRSI contribution record.

The State pension age was due to rise to 67 from 1 January 2021 however, the government has deferred this change and a Pensions Commission was established to consider the change to the State pension age, among other issues such as sustainability and intergenerational fairness.