The Pensions Authority publishes the second tranche of the Codes of Governance for Defined Contribution Schemes

Monday 4 April 2016: Today, the Pensions Authority has published the next tranche of the Authority’s Codes of governance for Defined Contribution schemes (DC codes).

These codes relate to:

  • DC Code 4: Collection and remittance of contributions
  • DC Code 5: Investing scheme assets
  • DC Code 6: Paying benefits.

The first codes, published in January, were:

  • DC Code 1: Governance plan of action
  • DC Code 2: Trustee meetings
  • DC Code 3: Managing conflicts of interest.

Over the course of 2016, the Authority will issue several codes of governance to help trustees meet the standards of practice that the Authority expects in occupational Defined Contribution trust-based pension schemes.

The DC codes are available under Codes of governance for DC schemes in the Publications section of this website.


For further information, contact:

David Malone
Head of Operations and Communications
The Pensions Authority
Tel: (01) 613 1900

Note to Editors

The Pensions Authority is the statutory body established by the Pensions Act, 1990 to regulate occupational pension schemes, trust based RACs and Personal Retirement Savings Accounts (PRSAs).