The Pensions Board is renamed the Pensions Authority

Thursday, 6 March 2014: The name of the Pensions Board is changed with effect from 7 March 2014 and it shall now be known, in the English language, as the Pensions Authority or, in the Irish language, as An tÚdarás Pinsean.

The Minister for Social Protection, Joan Burton, T.D. signed the commencement order with effect from 7 March 2014 for the Pensions Authority as provided for under the Social Welfare and Pensions (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2013. References in this Act or in any other enactment to the Pensions Board shall now be construed as references to the Pensions Authority.

Oversight of the Pensions Authority will be provided by a three-person board, comprising:

• Ms Jane Williams as Authority chair

• Dr Orlaigh Quinn, Assistant Secretary in the Department of Social Protection, who will represent Minister Burton

• Ms Ann Nolan, Second Secretary in the Department of Finance, who will represent Finance Minister Michael Noonan.

The post of Chief Executive of the Pensions Authority is also renamed as the Pensions Regulator. The Pensions Regulator will continue to perform the Chief Executive functions of the Pensions Authority. The Pensions Authority retains all of the functions of The Pensions Board.

Commenting on the name changeover, Brendan Kennedy said: “The staff and I look forward to working with the Chairperson and board members of the Pensions Authority in addressing the ongoing challenges facing Irish pensions over the coming years.”

The address and telephone numbers for the organisation remain the same:

The Pensions Authority
Verschoyle House
28-30 Lower Mount Street
Dublin 2
Tel: 01-613 1900

The website, ISIS and all email addresses will change to incorporate the new name over time, e.g. All existing email addresses will continue to be valid.

For further information please see the FAQs on the changeover to the Pensions Authority.


For further information, please contact:

David Malone Tel: (01) 613 1900 /087 6857743

Head of Operations
The Pensions Board